Activities for children by Samuels Public Library for the month of March – Royal Examiner

The Colonel James Wood II Chapter of the Virginia Society Sons of the American Revolution participated in a grave marking ceremony co-sponsored by Fairfax Resolves, Sergeant Major John Champe and Sergeant L. Everhart of the SAR Chapters. The event was held at New Jerusalem Church, Lovettsville, Loudoun, Virginia on April 10, 2022. This mark honored five Revolutionary War patriots who are buried in the cemetery adjacent to the church. They are Frederick Belse/Beltz, around 1741-1831; John Compher, Sr. 1740-1814; Michael Cooper, Sr. 1742-1815; John Fawley 1719-1803 and Johann Michael Boger 1762-1822. All of these patriots owned land and paid supply and/or land taxes in Loudoun County in 1782 or 1783.

The Virginia State Color Guard. (Photos courtesy of Thomas “Chip” Daniel)

The ceremony was hosted by Fairfax Resolves (Virginia) President David Huxsoll and Sergeant L. Everhart (Maryland) President Karl Woodcock. There was a color presentation by the Virginia State Color Guard commanded by Brett Osborn (CJWII). Company greetings were given by Virginia State President Bruce Meyer, Maryland State President Mark Deeds, Virginia State DAR Vice Regent Laurie Nesbit, La President of the Virginia Society Children of the American Revolution, Sara Cox, and Governor of the Order of Founders and Patriots of Virginia, Dr. Michael Weyler. Lovettsville Vice Mayor Christopher Hornbaker welcomed the audience and read a proclamation, with Mike Sapf providing a history of the New Jerusalem Lutheran Church. Presentations of wreaths followed a roll call and biography of the Patriots. Wreaths were presented by five state societies, nine SAR chapters, nine DAR chapters, two CAR societies and the OFPA of Virginia. A three-round musket salute was provided by the Virginia SAR Musket Squad.

The Musket Squad firing a salute.

The SAR chapters that participated were Fairfax Resolves, Col. James Wood II, George Mason, Sergeant Major John Champe, George Washington, Col. William Grayson, Col. Fielding Lewis, Thomas Jefferson, Sergeant Lawrence Everhart (MD) and John Paul Jones (MD). DAR chapters included Ketoctin, Mary Hemings Bell, Fairfax County, Bottony Cross, Lane’s Mill, Elizabeth McIntosh Hammill, Stone Bridge, Frederick, and Pack Horse Ford (WV). The children of the American Revolution societies were Reverend John Marks and Colonel Alexander Spotswood.

Sean Carrigan, Paul Christensen, Thomas “Chip” Daniel, Doug Hall, Brett Osborn, Allan Phillips, Nathan Poe, Will Reynolds and Jim Simmons participated in the Colonel James Wood II Chapter. Dual members included Ken Bonner (Sgt Maj John Champe), Forrest Crain (Fairfax Resolves), Dave Cook (Fairfax Resolves), Leamon Duncan (Col William Grayson) and Mike Weyler (Col William Grayson).

Members of the Colonel James Wood II Chapter. Front row left to right: Jim Simmons, Dale Corey, Sean Carrigan. Second row left to right: Will Reynolds, Dave Cook, Leamon Duncan, Thomas “Chip” Daniel, Allan Phillips, Paul Christensen, Mike Weyler, Nathan Poe, Doug Hall and Brett Osborn.

Back To Top