Jackson Gray and Ben Moran Join Qld PBR State of Origin Team | Queensland country life

Young bull riders from Yeppoon and Barcaldine will join Team Queensland for the PBR State of Origin II event at Tamworth this weekend, thanks to outstanding performances at the Toowoomba Invitational in early April.

They are Ben Moran, 18, of Yeppoon, and Jackson Gray, 21, of Barcaldine.

According to PBR Australia Managing Director Glen Young, while team captains were selected earlier in 2022, riders must earn their place on the team based on their performance in events at the PBR Monster Energy Round.

Jackson Gray rides Catfish Billy.

“Courtesy of an 11and setting on his 2022 season debut at Toowoomba, Jackson got his first-ever opportunity to compete at PBR Origin this weekend, where he is currently ranked No. 19 in the hunt for the 2022 PBR Australia Championship,” he said. -he declares.

“Ben Moran delivered his career-best effort at Toowoomba to earn his chance to represent the Maroons when he covered Rip Slinger for 78.5 points.

“Both riders will join the talented Queensland squad this weekend, where they will eagerly help the team defend their reigning championship title.”

RELATED: Queensland Take Home State of PBR 2021 in Cairns

Inspired by the State of Origin rugby series, the state vs. state showdown sees a roster of 10 runners each represent Team New South Wales and Team Queensland.

The Queensland side are already dominating the dirt after taking a 1-0 lead early in the series opener at Newcastle last month.

Aaron Kleier, four-time PBR Australia champion and captain of the Queensland team, said his side were eager to win the title for the third consecutive time.

“It’s a great privilege to put on that maroon shirt and have all the Queenslanders at home supporting you – we’re really doing it for them,” he said.

“Bull riding is such an individual sport, so when we can do it as a team, especially for Team Queensland, it just means a lot.

“We just work well together as a team, we have fun and we support each other, you see us all there, we all encourage each other.

“We pitched it like we’ve done the other years and hope to keep it going and win the next two.”

Queensland captain Aaron Kleier failed to score Kit Carson in the second round at Newcastle.

Queensland captain Aaron Kleier failed to score Kit Carson in the second round at Newcastle.

While the Blues failed to claim victory in Newcastle, team captain Cody Heffernan, seven-time PBR World Finals qualifier Lachlan Richardson and youngster Braith Nock all dominated the individual competition, finishing respectively second, third and fourth.

Mr Heffernan is hoping to turn the tide on Team Queensland this weekend at Tamworth and even on the pitch ahead of the final PBR Origin event in Brisbane on May 21.

“We just have to believe in ourselves. These first couple bulls, make sure we get qualified runs, get the ball rolling early,” he said. “Every ride matters to the spectators watching. We’ll make Tamworth matter.”

This weekend’s Origin event in Tamworth will be decisive for the outcome of the series and has the potential to determine which team wins the overall Origin Series Championship.

“The PBR Origins Champion will be the team that wins two or more events in the series, and the winner of the event will be the team with the highest combined score across all events,” Mr. Young said. .

“There’s also up to $30,000 in prizes up for grabs this weekend at Tamworth and $40,000 up for grabs in Brisbane.

“The top driver in the series receives a $20,000 bonus and this year’s Australian Monster Energy PBR Champion will receive a $50,000 year-end bonus.

“The atmosphere in Tamworth is always electric, and we couldn’t think of a better place to host the second leg of our PBR Monster Energy Origin tournament.”


  • Cody Heffernan (Singleton)
  • Lachlan Richardson (Gresford)
  • Braith Nock (Bendemeer)
  • Nathan Burtenshaw (Coonamble)
  • Lachlan Slade (Tamworth)
  • Trefor Sproule (Singleton)
  • Sam Woodall (Luddenham)
  • Oscar Leake (Dungog)
  • Will Purcell (Albury) – imminent injury
  • Chris Wilson (Parkville).


  • Aaron Kleier (Clermont)
  • Qynn Anderson (Koumala)
  • Kelsey Pavlou (Gracemere)
  • Brumby Brandenburg (Clermont)
  • Michael Smith (Tully)
  • Taran Chirgwin (Calliope)
  • Jackson Gray (Barcaldine)
  • Ben Moran (Yeppoon)
  • Caiden Sandilands (Rockhampton)
  • Dan Ruhland (Mount Walker)


Want daily news highlights delivered to your inbox? Sign up for the Queensland country life newsletter below.

Back To Top